top of page

What it’s Like Traveling Solo as a Young Professional. 

Updated: Oct 18, 2018

On most of my sponsored trips if I’m traveling with a group I’m almost always half the age of everyone else, and yes this means forever being referred to as the baby. Sometimes it can be hard to connect with those old enough to be my parent, or even grandparent! But other times my jaw drops when I find out a handful of fellow travelers aren’t in their twenties. When a lot of people figure out how old I am on these trips, they're often not only shocked that I am already able to travel through my company, but also surprised that a person my age is already into such a great career and has found such passion in travel. Many of my fellow travelers have worked at a variety of typical 9-5's after college in their 20's before getting into the travel business. My first couple of trips I wasn’t even old enough to drink in the states (but hey thankfully other countries have a much nicer drinking age ;)). Aside from being a fetus compared to everyone else solo travel so young in a professional setting comes with many learning curves and adaptations. Imagine being twenty sitting in a room full of highly successful travel professionals - from app creators, to authors from Lonely Planet, photographers for National Geographic, Miss Australia, tv personals, professional writers and cinematographers, members of a countries tourism board, a prime minister, CEO’s and presidents of numerous companies...and then there’s you, a young girl who got lucky with a job add on craigslist who can’t even make a decent meal for herself. Intimidating is an understatement.


What if I make a joke or remark and they see it as immature? They're all having fun goofing around but I'm a child to them, it won't be the same. I have no clue what they’re talking about, I’m so uneducated and in the dark about this topic. How do they know SO much about politics in EVERY country? Wow they've all be in the industry for how long? I wasn't even born yet. Do they even take me serious? Maybe I’ll just keep quiet. They’ve all worked for years to have this opportunity, they probably think I’m a privileged spoiled brat. Oh gosh, they’re looking at me. They’re talking to me. Please don’t make yourself look like a fool. Breathe. Just breathe. 


Needless to say, a simple dinner can be more than stressful and learning to read a situation and display the correct social skills - while also having ADD, high anxiety, and a few less brain cells can be a challenge. The brain cells is a joke (kind of) - being a former rugby player with one-too-many concussions, it’s difficult to retain a lot of information or speak flawlessly these days (but I would never take back the 7 1/2 years on the pitch). Not only am I the young one, but I’m the young one who walks around with a notepad like I’m about to study for finals that stutters and takes a minute to make sense or get a point across. A not perfect memory and shaky speech are just another obstacle to overcome, an addition to insecurities, yes, but never a barrier from keeping me from my dreams or passion.


Due to having such high anxiety and being an outgoing introvert (contradicting, right?) it often takes me longer than others to find someone I click with on a trip. I’m never the most outgoing or experienced. It's hard to let go and be yourself and have fun when you're in an unfamiliar country, with unfamiliar people - but I think a lot of people may experience this (unless they're total extroverts with tons of experience, then its a breeze). Before you really build that PR with someone it can also be lonely, but after you've made friends and connections it so great to think about how awesome it is to know so many people world wide. The travel community is so large but so small at the same time, you never know where you'll find someone. I ran into a guy from the Netherlands who I met on my Patagonia trip in London, and will meet up with a girl from Canada I became close with in Patagonia as well, in Africa. The connections you make can not only give you totally awesome friendships but also open greater doors and opportunities down the road.


All in all, while solo travel can be nerve racking, and being a young professional on top intimidating, it makes you appreciate the experience that much more. Its so great to share ideas and collaborate, learn from fellow travelers. Not only do these experience help me gain destination knowledge, but I learn just as much industry knowledge from those who I travel with. Everyone on the trip shares the same passion and that alone is powerful and welcoming. I think that those in this industry with such a passion for travel and meeting people of all cultures, are a bit more welcoming, kind, and less-judgmental. Solo travel forces you to be independent and self-aware. Being young makes you mature faster, and helps you learn how to act in a professional setting. All my life I've had to grow up fast and have always said to be mature for my age. I've been taught and raised to be a strong independent woman who can do anything she sets her mind to. As mentioned in previous posts, I do work my butt off at my job to enable my boss to have the confidence and trust in me to go on these trips. These trips help me gain more knowledge and destination experience, allowing me to excel even further in my field. Traveling first hand is an essential part of the work that I do. While travel seems like its all fun and games, some may not enjoy it because there really is no down or free time, and you don't pick the schedule or activities you do. The destinations are awesome and the trips can be a lot of fun but at the end of it all, it is work. Travel can be exhausting, but always pays off.


bottom of page